jump to navigation

So, my life should be forfeit? May 20, 2017

Posted by lawrencemerithew in anti-totalitarianism, Opinion, politics.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

A few days ago in Tulsa, Oklahoma, a police officer was acquitted of killing an unarmed citizen. He was shot by the officer as he walked away from her, his hands held above his head.

Let that sink in a moment. Walking AWAY from the officer, hands in the air. The officer was concerned he was reaching into his vehicle, for what, she didn’t know. Through a CLOSED vehicle window. With a SECOND officer assisting at the scene.

Yesterday (19 May 2017), she was cleared to return to the force, in a non-patrol position.

One account of the incident and acquittal can be found at the CNN website.

Here’s why I titled this blog post as I did.

I have been told I have a very intimidating appearance. Standing just under 6′ and weighing roughly 290 pounds, it’s easy to understand that belief. Further, I’ve been asked on more than one occasion whether I was under the influence of narcotics. No, I’ve never done anything like cocaine, heroine, meth, PCP, nothing like that. Hell, I don’t even want to take prescription painkillers if I can help it.

I do, however, tend to behave erratically at times, which I will explain at the end of this post.

Based on the general information giving in the Betty Shelby case, and the similarity to my own history, should my life be forfeit?

One justification she gives for firing is Mr. Crutcher’s refusal to follow orders. Is ignoring a police officer a sufficient reason for the officer to act as judge, jury, and executioner, if that is his only verifiable crime at the time?

If so, what does that say about American society, where disobeying your government masters is punishable by death?

Are police officers still public servants, or not?

While I’m sure the majority of officers would take a more measured response, can we still ignore the small minority that believe they are in the force to “BE served (by the citizens) and (BE) protected (by the “justice” system)” FROM those same citizens?

In short, when did America become a nation where those in government, in whatever capacity, are exempt from accepting personal responsibility for their actions?

To return to the issue of whether my life is forfeit:

So far, all you know is what any person on the street, or police officer, would be aware of when meeting me in public. What you, or they, would NOT be aware of, is that my erratic behavior can be the result of weak response to stressful situations, combined with being a diabetic.

So, I ask again:

Should my life be forfeit, simply because a chronic disease happens to manifest its symptoms at an inopportune time?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

